Follow us on Social Media

Friday, November 1, 2019

11th Annual Italian Movie Award Ceremony - NYC

The guests have been announced for this year's Italian Movie Award ceremony that will take place in New York on November 19. Among them are John Turturro, Claudio Bisio, Paola Cortellesi, Valentina Lodovini, Massimiliano Gallo, My Brilliant Friend actress Ludovica Nasti and New York Public Relations extraordinaire Sally Fischer.

The event returns after the successful 10th edition, which garnered a crowd of 32,000 spectators in the historic city of Pompeii last August and of course, following the great success of last year's awards ceremony in New York. The 2018 edition was broadcast by the Mediaset Iris networks, Extra and Mediaset Italia, exceeding a million listeners in Italy and abroad.

This year's event in New York will be held at the Frank A. Bennack Theater of The Paley Center for Media in Manhattan at 52nd St and Fifth Avenue. Renowned artists of national and international cinema are expected. One of the most anticipated awards of the night will be handed out to New York native, Italian-American actor and director John Turturro.

At the end of the event, a fundraising dinner will be hosted by Gnoccheria Wall Street's restaurateur Michele Juliano in support of "Research Against Cancer" by the Sbarro Health Research Organization (, directed by the researcher and oncologist Antonio Giordano. The dinner will take place on November 19 at 9.30pm at 100 Broad Street in New York. Tickets for the exclusive menu cost $200 per person and are tax deductible. To participate, you must book your spot by November 15. Participants will receive an exclusive invitation for the awards ceremony. Click here for details on both events.

Below is a list of the nominees..

Best Feature-length Film: “La Paranza Dei Bambini” by Claudio Giovannesi; “Il Traditore” by Marco Bellocchio; “Martin Eden” by Pietro Marcello; “Il Sindaco del Rione Sanità” by Mario Martone; “5 E’ Il Numero Perfetto” by Igor Tuveri. Best Documentary: “Arrivederci Saigon” by Wilma Labbate; “Selfie” by Agostino Ferrente; “Io, Leonardo” by Jesus Garces Lambert; “Diabolik Sono Io” by Giancarlo Soldi; “Dafne” by Federico Bondi. Best Short Film: “Anna” by Federica D’Ignoti; “Im Baren” by Lilian Sassanelli; “Frontiera” by Alessandro Di Gregorio; “Roba Da Grandi” by Rolando Ravello; infine “Goodbye Marilyn” by Maria Di Razza. Best TV Series: “L’Amica Geniale” by Saverio Costanzo; “Suburra” (2° stagione) by Andrea Molaioli and Piero Messina; “Gomorra” (4° stagione) by Francesca Comencini e Claudio Cupellini ; “The New Pope” by Paolo Sorrentino. “Made In Italy” by Luca Lucini e Ago Panini. Best Location: Comune of Matera for “007-No Time To Die” by Cary Fukunaga; Comune of Firenze for “Six Underground” by Michael Bay; Comune di Maiori (Salerno) for “Tenet” by Christopher Nolan; Comune di Torino for “The King’s Man – Le Origini” by Matthew Vaughn; Comune di Napoli for “Maria Maddalena” by Garth Davis.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

New Films on the Horizon for Two Maestros of Italian Cinema

Two veteran filmmakers are about to begin production on their new projects at Cinecittà studios in Rome – Paolo Taviani with “Leonora Addi...